Arcadia Beach, Oregon

When planning this vacation, I was very careful to check for Life is Strange inspirations. I stayed in Garibaldi, OR and mapped my adventures out from there. Of course, it was only natural to drive to Arcadia Beach and cosplay as Chloe.

As this was my first time as Chloe, I made my usual error by referring to a picture/the mirror in applying the tattoo. Unfortunately, it was my only tattoo and I decided to just accept my error and continue on. ย I also brought my light stand/umbrellas for the flash and hoped that the winds wouldn’t take the kit away.

When I arrived at the beach, it was cloudy but only slightly windy so I began to set up. Once I began to take pictures, the sky opened up and made for a gorgeous backdrop. I took a few poses, one which I plan to post in the future. For being both the photographer and the subject, I couldn’t have asked for better results.

One thing I do want to note is that my journey opened up so many new sights and experiences for me. I would have never guessed almost two years ago that a game would have such an impact on my life. The locations that I mapped out and traveled to were so breath-taking and the experiences were so unique. I tried to imagine what it was like for the development team of Life is Strange when they were designing the game from these real locations. I’ve received so much from this game and I will forever be grateful.

Feel free to leave me any comments below!

11 Comments

  1. That’s a great cosplay! No offense but I think you impersonate Chloe better than Max. Maybe it’s your bodyshape, maybe your facial features, maybe both but you’re definitely more convincing as Chloe imo. If I wanted to nitpick I would say you could have improved the whole cosplay by using a leather jacket and maybe a bullet necklace a bit more realistic (it kinda looks like it’s made of Play-Doh?)
    Did anyone recognize you as Chloe when you were on your trip? Did you visit the Blue Moon Diner maybe?
    Anyway, thanks for sharing these pictures!

    Like

    1. Thank you for your very thorough comment! That’s interesting you think my Chloe is better, I definitely felt more comfortable as Max. Good eye with the necklace, you are right I did make it out of clay. Since I am Canadian and was flying to Oregon, I wasn’t entirely sure on the laws regarding flying and ammunition (even though it would be discharged). I felt more comfortable with something I handcrafted but I also had a back-up plan with three pointed necklace pendants.

      I most certainly did visit the Blue Moon Diner (twice) and those pictures will be upcoming! Also, I was not recognized as Chloe (though a lot of people loved her outfit) but I was recognized as Max!

      Thank you for the kind words!

      Like

      1. Do you mean more comfortable in terms of personality (Chloe’s being opposite to yours) or regarding the outfit?
        I can’t tell from this picture, but maybe I find your Chloe cosplay better because you’re as tall as her, which would as a result make your Max cosplay slightly off.
        Canadian? Do you live near Vancouver? If so it wasn’t a long flight. Otherwise, well, it may have been.
        I think you could have kept the cartridges in checked baggage but I’m not 100% sure.
        I’m looking forward to seeing these Blue Moon pictures ๐Ÿ™‚

        I would have thought the contrary: Chloe seems way more recognizable and iconic than “wallflower” Max… Unless punks are plentiful in Oregon but I sincerely doubt it.
        I live in France and even though the game is technically French, you’re sadly not likely to stumble upon any Chloe cosplayers

        Like

      2. A few reasons but mostly that yes, I relate more to Max’s personality and her physical features are closer to mine. I don’t have the light coloring like Chloe has. However, I do like Chloe’s outfit more as I love how she kind of pushes past the awkward covering-up that Max does.

        I’m Canadian but living in the USA so it wasn’t a long flight. ๐Ÿ™‚ I cannot wait to share more, I am aiming for one photo a week with a few bonus Oregon landscape pictures just for fun.

        I don’t know, I saw quite a few punk outfits in Portland but not so much on the coast. I think a lot of people recognize Max because of the Jane Doe shirt/grey sweater/bag. I think people were more hesitant when I was Chloe because it *could* have been my regular every-day attire. A lot of my friends thought I had cut and colored my hair when I posted the picture of myself. ๐Ÿ™‚

        Like

      3. A picture a week seems like a good schedule for your viewers ๐Ÿ™‚
        You have a point, it could have been an awkward situation: some people probably refrained from asking if you were a cosplayer lest it be your everyday punk outfit.
        It would have been a rather radical change, your friends probably thought you were having an existential crisis lol
        What do you mean by light coloring? Like a light complexion?
        Did you happen to meet any Rachel cosplayers while you were traveling?

        Like

  2. Great pic! It must be very challenging to setup, being both the photographer & the subject (fulI disclosure, I know nothing about photography) : )

    Glad you got to take the trip, LiS had a profound affect on me, as well. BTW, I’m Canadian, too! What province are you from?

    Like

    1. I’ve had to practice a *lot* with taking pictures and being the subject as the hardest thing is getting the subject in focus. Second is getting lighting right but luckily there is software that can assist with any minor lighting errors I may make. ๐Ÿ˜›

      Also; Hello fellow Canadian! I’m from Alberta, how about you?

      Like

      1. Well, you’re obviously very talented, even with a little postnproduction digital assistance. Looking forward to seeing more of your work.

        I’m from Ontario, and a long suffering Leafs fan. ๐Ÿ˜ž

        Like

Leave a Reply

